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their provider type, and information 
published in Claim Jumper issues and 
on the Montana Healthcare Programs 
Provider Information website.
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Montana Healthcare Programs

Claim Jumper
Third Party Liability (TPL) - Pay and Chase
Medicaid Pay and Chase is designed so providers may administer care 
services and receive payment from Medicaid without delays when certain 
criteria exists. No payment shall be made by the Montana Healthcare 
Programs for any medical service for which there is a known liable third-
party with a legal responsibility to pay for medical services except for the 
following:

Medical Support Enforcement 
service provided to an individual on whose behalf child support 
enforcement is being carried out if (1) the third-party coverage is 
through an absent parent and (2) the provider certifies that, if the 
provider has billed a third party, the provider has waited 30 days 
from the date of service without receiving payment before billing 
Medicaid.

Prenatal and preventative pediatric services (including EPSDT)
Labor, delivery and postpartum care

In addition to the list above, pay and chase is available to providers 
when the known liable third-party has not responded to a clean 
claim submitted by the provider. According to 33-18-232, MCA, a 
carrier is required to pay claims within 30 days of submission unless 
supporting documents are requested at which time increases to 60 
days. Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services 
(DPHHS) in compliance with federal law; allows a provider to bill the 
primary carrier then wait 90 days for a response and if one is not 
received, the provider may submit a claim to Montana Healthcare 
Programs’ fiscal agent, Conduent TPL unit (see Key Contacts for 
Third Party Liability address), with proof of billing and not receiving 
a response from the primary carrier. Once the primary carrier pays 
the provider, a refund for the lesser of the two payments must be 
returned to Conduent within 60 days of the payment being received 
by the provider.

Finally, when there is no established liable third-party, Montana 
Healthcare Programs may pay claims to the maximum Medicaid 
allowable payment amount. If DPHHS later establishes that a third-
party was liable for the claim, the DPHHS TPL Unit will seek to 
recover the payment. This may occur when the Montana Healthcare 
Programs member requires medical services in casualty/tort, 
medical malpractice, Worker’s Compensation, or other cases where 
the third-party’s liability is not determined before medical care is 
provided. It may also occur when DPHHS learns of health insurance 
coverage after medical care is provided. For example, a Montana 
Healthcare Programs member is hurt at work, goes to a doctor and is 
given a prescription. It is not the expectation of Montana Healthcare 
Programs that the pharmacy refuses billing Medicaid on that same
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Have Feedback?
Have Questions?

Complete 
the Survey

https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov
https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov
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You Asked - We Answered

What do I need to do if a provider is terminated from my group or facility?
Follow the requirements in the General Manual and verify in your provider type manual if there are any 
additional requirements.

Write a termination letter. The General Manual states: “Medicaid enrollment may be terminated by 
writing to Provider Relations; however, some provider types have additional requirements. Providers 
should include their NPI (healthcare providers) or API (atypical providers) and the termination date in 
the letter.”

Include in the termination letter:

An effective date for the termination
NPI or API number

Providers must give members a 40-day notice before denying treatment. 

To determine any additional requirements for your provider type, locate your provider type 
page on the Resources by Provider Type page of the provider website.

Open the Complete Manual tab then type the CRTL + F keys to open the search box.
Search for the term “Termination”.

If possible, do not terminate an enrollment file until all claims have processed.

Once terminated, the provider will no longer have access to remits.

Written Requests are required for terminations. 
Submit letters of termination: 

By mail to: Provider Relations, P.O. Box 4936 Helena, MT 59604
By Fax to: (406) 442-4402

What can happen if I don’t send in a notice of termination of a provider?
Claims could be paid past the requested termination dated and/or put the provider into a credit 
balance.

I am a provider starting a private practice and I am already enrolled with the 
Montana Healthcare Programs under a facility/group.  What do I need to do or 
know?

If you are going to accept Montana Healthcare Programs members, enroll.

As long as you are fully enrolled to the facility, your new private practice PID may not be back dated 
for members seen before your new enrollment is complete.  

If you see and bill for dates of service prior to the completion and approval of your new enrollment, 
funds will go to the facility you were enrolled with at that time. 

Continued on page 3
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https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/providerenrollment
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You Asked Continued from page 2

There are two options for ensuring funds go to the proper location when you transition to a private 
practice from a facility or group:

Option 1:

Obtain a group NPI from NPPES.com. Enrolling a second NPI as a group using your private 
practice EIN/SS# allows you back date the group enrollment.

Submit an application to have your personal NPI changed to a Rendering Only. Once the 
new enrollment is approved, let the facility know they must now use their facility NPI when billing 
for services you provide at their facility

Option 2:

Notify the facility you are working for as soon as you make the decision to start a private 
practice.

Let the facility know that your enrollment with Montana Healthcare Programs will be 
changing. They may need to change the way they submit their claims for services you provide. 
This will also allow time for your new enrollment to become effective before you begin seeing 
members in your private practice. 

Let the facility know they must now use their facility NPI  when the new enrollment is 
approved, and the facility will need to use their facility NPI when billing for services you provide at 
the facility.

Contact Provider Relations at (800) 624-3958 Option 7, then Option 4 with any questions.

Do you have a general question you would like answered?

Visit the Training Survey! Insert your question in the box under question five. We can answer your 
question in a future issue of the Claim Jumper or, if you leave your contact information, Provider 
Relations will respond directly to you. You may also email MTPRHelpdesk@conduent.com.

Do You Have Questions?
We Have Answers!

Get Answers You Need - Ask Here: 
https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/trainingsurvey 
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https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/trainingsurvey
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SURS Audit Revelations
Creating a Successful Self-Audit Process

Utilizing self-audits is a quick and easy way to ensure that your facility or practice is documenting accurately 
to support the reimbursement received from Medicaid. Medical professionals need to ensure records and 
claims submitted to Federal and State health care programs are true and accurate. This can help protect 
the facility or practice by implementing an internal self-auditing strategy.

The Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) offers some suggestions on how a facility or 
medical professional can get started when conducting self-audits:

Create and initiate a solid medical record documentation policy 
Utilize a standard medical auditing tool. The tool should cover the documentation policy criteria and 
coding standards as part of the review. 
Acquire an experienced staff person who understands medical documentation, CPT coding, and audit 
sampling.  
Refrain from auditing your own work. 
Use the self-audit results to improve practice compliance. 
After implementing any corrective action, audit the process again to ensure compliance has improved 
and is successful.

To learn more about Medicaid Documentation for Medical Professionals, please visit the Medicaid 
Program Integrity Education page on the CMS website at the below link. https://www.cms.gov/
Medicare-Medicaid-Coordination/Fraud-Prevention/Medicaid-Integrity-Education/Downloads/
docmatters-medicalprof-factsheet.pdf.

In addition, the Surveillance Utilization Review Section (SURS) has a self-audit process posted on the 
Montana.Gov offical website. For more information on how to perform and report your own self-audits 
please visit the following link: https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/27#184022468-other-resources.

Submitted by Brett McMillan, LPN 
Program Integrity Compliance Specialist

Quality Assurance Division 
DPHHS

New Developmental Disabilities Program Provider Type 

Effective July 1, 2019, all developmental disabilities providers must utilize the MMIS for claims processing 
of services for the 0208 Comprehensive Services Waiver for Individuals with Developmental Disabilities.

In order to submit claims for processing and payment of services, providers are required to enroll in 
Montana Healthcare Programs as a Developmental Disabilities Program (DDP) provider. 

Please visit the Montana Healthcare Programs Provider Enrollment website to enroll and become a DDP 
provider.
MMIS trainings for DDP providers were held in Billings, Great Falls, Helena, and Missoula during the first 
part of June. Watch for upcoming trainings for the new Provider Services Module in the coming months.

Additional DDP Provider Type information can be found on the Developmental Disabilities Program 
Providers website, including:

DDP Provider Type Fee Schedule; and
DDP Provider Type Manual.

Submitted by Rebecca Corbett 
Business Analyst, MPATH 

DPHHS
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https://www.cms.gov/Medicare-Medicaid-Coordination/Fraud-Prevention/Medicaid-Integrity-Education/Downloads/docmatters-medicalprof-factsheet.pdf
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Recent Website Posts
Below is a list of recently published Medicaid information and updates available  
on the Provider Information Website. On the website, select “Resources by Provider Type”  in 
the left menu to locate information specific to your provider type. If you cannot locate the 
information below, contact Provider Relations at (800) 624-3958 or (406) 442-1837 in Helena. 

Provider Notices

05/01/2019 Pharmacy, Physician, Mid-
Levels

Dosage Restrictions for all Opioids Based on Morphine 
Milligram Equivalents (MME)

05/02/2019 Licensed Professional 
Counselor, Mental Health 
Centers, PRTF, Psychiatrist, 
Psychologist, Social Worker, 
School-Based Services, 
Targeted Case Management 
(Mental Health), Therapeutic 
Foster Home,Therapeutic 
Group Home

Outpatient Psychotherapy Limits

05/06/2019 Dental Dental Blanket Denial Process

05/10/2019 ASC, CAH, Hospital Outpatient, 
IDTF, Mid-Levels, Physician

NDC Required on All radiopharmaceuticals

05/31/2019 All Providers Nurse Visit - Appropriate Billing Reminder - Revised 
Clarification

Fee Schedules
July 2019 Proposed
72-Hour Presumptive Eligibility Program for Crisis Stabilization, Ambulance, Audiology, Children’s
Chiropractic, Children’s Special Health Services, Dental Hygienist, Dental Services, Denturist , Direct
Entry Midwife Services, DME, Elderly and Physically Disabled - Big Sky, Hearing Aid Services HCBS
Adults with SDMI, Home Health, Home Infusion, IDTF, Lab Services, Medicaid MHSP Adult, Medicaid
Mental Health Adult, Medicaid Behavorial Health Targeted Case Management, Medicaid Youth Mental
Health, Mid-Level Services, Mobile Imaging Services, Nutrition EPSDT, Occupational Therapy,
Optician, Optometric, Oral Surgeon, Orientation and Mobility, PAS, Physical Therapy, Physician
Services, Podiatry Services, Private Duty Nursing, Psychiatrist Services, Public Health Services,
Speech Therapy Cover Sheet, Substance Use Disorder Chemical Dependency – Medicaid, Substance
Use Disorder Chemical Dependency - Non-Medicaid, Targeted Case Management - Non Mental
Health, Transportation - Non-Emergency Specialized, Transportation - Personal and Commercial
April 2019
APC, ASC
Revised Schedules
April 2019: OPPS January 2019: APR-DRG, Mid-Levels  July 2019: Oral Surgeon

Manuals
General Information for Providers

Other Resources
Updated End User Agreements for Provider Website
All Manuals now have the complete manual at the top of each manual page
Quarterly PDL
Mayzent® Medicaid Dossier added to DUR Agenda for May 2019

•
•
•
•

https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov
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Key Contacts
Montana Healthcare Programs 
Provider Information 
https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/
Conduent EDI Solutions 
http://edisolutionsmmis.portal. 
conduent.com/gcro
Provider Relations 
MTPRHelpdesk@conduent.com 
P.O. Box 4936
Helena, MT 59602
(800) 624-3958 In/Out of state
(406) 442-1837 Helena
(406) 442-4402 Fax

Third Party Liability
P.O. Box 5838
Helena, MT 59604
(800) 624-3958 In/Out of state
(406) 443-1365 Helena
(406) 442-0357 Fax
Claims Processing
P.O. Box 8000
Helena, MT 59604
EFT and ERA
Fax completed documentation to 
Provider Relations,  
(406) 442-4402.
Verify Member Eligibility 
FaxBack (800) 714-0075 or  
Voice Response (800) 714-0060
POS Help Desk for Pharmacy 
(800) 365-4944
Passport 
(800) 362-8312
PERM Contact Information 
email: KCronholm@mt.gov
(406) 444-9365
website: http://dphhs.mt.gov/qad/
PC/PERMPC
Prior Authorization
OOS Acute & Behavioral Health 
Hospital, Transplant, Rehab & 
PDN: 
(406) 457-3060 (Helena) or
(877) 443-4021 (Toll Free)
Fax:
(406) 513-1923 Helena or
(877) 443-2580 (Toll Free)
MPQH – DMEPOS/Medical
(406) 457-3060 Helena or
(877) 443-4021
Fax:
(406) 513-1923 Helena or
(877) 443-2580
Magellan Medicaid
Administration
Phone: (800)770-3084 (opt 3)
Fax: (800) 639-8982

Top 15 Claim Denial Reasons
Exception May 

2019
April 
2019

RECIPIENT NOT ELIGIBLE DOS  1  2
REFILL TOO SOON.  2  3
FILL TOO SOON  3  4
MISSING/INVALID INFORMATION  4  6
PA MISSING OR INVALID  5  5
EXACT DUPLICATE  6  1
RATE TIMES DAYS NOT = CHARGE  7  7
PASSPORT PROVIDER NO. MISSING  8  8
DRUG CONTROL CODE = 2 (DENY)  9  9
NDC MISSING OR INVALID 10 10
PROC. CODE NOT COVERED 11 11
INVALID REV CODE FOR FACILITY TO BILL 12 15
RECIPIENT COVERED BY PART B 13 12
PROC. CODE NOT ALLOWED 14 14
DAYS SUPPLY MISSING 15 13

TPL (continued from page 1)

day because Worker’s Compensation is a potentially liable third party. 
The pharmacy should bill Medicaid until Worker’s Compensation has 
opened a case and accepted liability thereby establishing as the known 
liable third party.

For more information or questions please contact Conduent’s Provider 
Relations hotline at (800) 624-3958.

Submitted by Olivia J Roussan
Third Party Liability Section Supervisor 

Quality Assurance Division 
DPHHS

Online Live Training
Register on the WebEx Page

Navigating the Provider Website 
Finding the information you need 

without making a phone call. 
July 18, 2019 2PM MST

Billing 101

August 15, 2019 2PM MST

http://edisolutionsmmis.portal.com/gcro
http://edisolutionsmmis.portal.conduent.com/gcro/
email:MTPRHelpdesk@conduent.com
mailto:KCronholm@mt.gov
http://dphhs.mt.gov/qad/PC/PERMPC

http://dphhs.mt.gov/qad/PC/PERMPC

https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/webex
https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov
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