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The Big Sky Rx Program is a State of
Montana program that pays all, or part,
of Medicare Part D Prescription Drug
Plan (PDP) premiums for eligible
Montanans. The program is adminis-
tered by the Montana Department of
Public Health and Human Services.
This program was created by the 2005
Legislature (SB324) to help Montanans
pay their Medicare Part D premiums.

Any Montana Medicare recipient can
fill out an application to see if they
qualify. If they do, we start paying all,

* Beon Medicare, and have not received
Medicaid in the last 12 months,

* Have an annual income less than
about $21,660 if single or about
$29,140 if married and living togeth-
er (these income limits change with
the household size and change annu-

ally).

People should apply for Big Sky Rx
even if they think their income is too
high as some income is not counted
and assets are not counted as income
for the program.

Fall Provider Training

Fall provider training will be in Miles
City October 1, Kalispell October 8§,
and Bozeman October 29. This one-
day training includes presentations
from both the State and ACS. Sessions
include Healthy Montana Kids, SURS,
Managed Care, special forms, electron-
ic rejections, keeping files current, and
fundamentals to prevent denials. The
day will conclude with a roundtable dis-
cussion with your program officer.

A complete schedule and registra-
tion form can be found in this Claim
Jumper or on the website under Up-
coming Events.

Good News for
Montanans With
Medicare Part D: Big
Sky Rx Is Accepting
Applications

There is help available for Montanans

on Medicare who are not eligible for
Medicaid.

or a portion of, their monthly Part D

PDP premium up to $33.19. An applicant will be notified if his or

her income and assets indicate he or she
may be eligible for the Social Security
Extra Help Program, a federal program

To qualify a person must:

¢ Be a Montana resident,

Top 15 Claim Denial Reasons

Exception July June
Ranking | Ranking

RECIPIENT NOT ELIGIBLE DOS 1 2
EXACT DUPLICATE 2 1
REFILL TOO SOON 3 3
DRUG CONTROL CODE = 2 (DENY) 4 4
RATE TIMES DAYS NOT = CHARGE 5 5
PASSPORT PROVIDER NO. MISSING 6 6
REV CODE INVALID FOR PROV TYPE 7 7
PA MISSING OR INVALID 8 10
CLAIMS INDICATES TPL 9 8
RECIPIENT COVERED BY PART B 10 9
SUBMIT BILL TO OTHER PROCESSOR OR 11 11
PRIMARY PAYER
DEPRIVATION CODE RESTRICTED 12 16
CLAIMSGUARD ONE E&M PER DOS 13 37
SUSPECT DUPLICATE 14 12
SLMB OR QI-1 ELIGIBILITY ONLY 15 19
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that can help with Medicare Part D co-
pays, deductibles, and premiums.

Big Sky Rx applications are processed
year round. Once a person is enrolled,
Big Sky Rx will begin paying all or
a portion of his or her premiums the
month following enrollment and will
continue paying for a year.

For more information, applications, or
FAQ sheets:

* Website: www.bigskyrx.mt.gov
* Email: bigskyrx@mt.gov
* In-State Toll-Free: 1-866-369-1233

» Helena Area and Out-of-State: (406)
444-1233

* Montana Relay Service: 711

Submitted by Pam Zehntner, DPHHS

Cost Sharing: When Is It
Taken, and How Much
Is It?

Cost sharing is the client’s financial
responsibility for a medical bill as as-
signed by Medicaid. It is generally
taken for services for adults, with a few
exceptions. This is usually a flat fee,
with the schedule as follows:

Inpatient Hospital
$100 per discharge

Ambulatory Surgery Center,
Denturists, DME, FQHC,
Freestanding Dialysis Clinics,
Outpatient Hospital, RHC,
Non-Emergent Care in ER
$5 per visit

Independent Diagnostic Testing
Facility, Mid-level Practitioners,
Physicians, Podiatry, Psychiatrists
$4 per visit

Dental, Home Health, LCPCs,
Psychological Services, Social Worker,
Speech Therapy
$3 per visit

Audiology, Hearing Aids,
Occupational Therapy, Opticians,
Optometric, Physical Therapy
$2 per visit

Public Health Clinics
$1 per visit

Pharmacy
$1-$5 per script
$25 monthly cap

Clients who reside in a nursing home,
receive hospice, personal assistance,
and home and community based servic-
es do not have cost share taken for any
services. Pregnant women will not have
cost share taken if providers use an ap-
propriate EPSDT code, which indicates
pregnancy. This indicator can only be
used on females and should only be used
when the female is pregnant, through
the covered post-partum period (which
begins when the pregnancy ends and
extends through the end of the month in
which 60 days have passed).

If a client has TPL or Medicare, cost
sharing may or may not be assessed. If
the TPL or Medicare pays on the claim,
no cost share will be taken. However, if
the claim is denied by TPL or by Medi-
care, the client will still be responsible
for that cost share amount. This in-
cludes situations where the claim is
applied to the deductible.

If you have any questions on cost
sharing you can contact Provider Re-
lations at (800) 624-3958 or (406)
442-1837.

Publications Reminder

It is providers’ responsibility to be
familiar with Medicaid manuals,
fee schedules, and notices for their
provider type, as well as other in-
formation published in the Claim
Jumper and on the Medicaid website
(www.mtmedicaid.org).

Family Planning
Clinic Medicaid Billing
Changes

Effective August 1, 2009, Medicaid es-
tablished provider type 16 for family
planning clinics to accommodate your
specific billing practices.

Family planning clinics may:

* Re-enroll. If you are part of a public
health or other clinic, you must enroll
as a family planning clinic. Enroll
online at www.mtmedicaid.org;
follow the enrollment links at the top
left of the page. You will continue to
be enrolled as a public health clinic
and no changes are necessary to that
enrollment.

If you re-enroll and have family
planning service claims with dates
of services less than one year old,
submit the claims to ACS for pro-
cessing. Your claims must have
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rendering provider information to
process and pay.

* Request an update. If you are a
family planning clinic enrolled as
another entity, for example, as a
public health clinic, and you are not
attached to another entity, you may
request your clinic be changed to
provider type 16, family planning
clinic, with the correct taxono-
my code of 261QF0050X. Submit
this update request in writing
to ACS Provider Relations at
MTPRHelpDesk@ACS-inc.com or
Provider Enrollment Unit, P.O. Box
4936, Helena, MT 59604.

If you request an update to your en-
rollment to reflect family planning,
and you have claims with dates of ser-
vices less than one year old, submit
the claims to ACS for processing, or
contact Connie Olson at 444-3995 or
COlson2@mt.gov to request a mass
adjustment. Your claims must have
rendering provider information to
process and pay.

After re-enrollment or update for your
clinic is complete, claims will process
correctly.

Family Planning Clinics that re-enroll
or request an update may have claims
that are more than one year old. You
may send those claims for review to:

Family Planning Clinic Claims
Review

Attention: Brenda Beardslee
DPHHS/HRD/MCB

P.O. Box 202951

Helena, MT 59620-2951

These claims must fall into one of the
three categories below:

¢ Have a date of service more than one
year old, and

e Have a date of service on or after
May 23, 2007, and

* Were not paid due to enrollment
issues.

Submitted by Bob Wallace, DPHHS

14,250 copies of this newsletter were printed
at an estimated cost of $.47 per copy, for
a total cost of $6,757.45, which includes
$3,779.52 for printing and $2,977.93 for dis-
tribution.

Alternative accessible formats are available
by calling the DPHHS Office of Planning,
Coordination and Analysis at (406) 444-
9772.
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Recent Publications

The following are brief summaries of recently published Medicaid information and updates. For details and further instructions,
download the complete document from www.mtmedicaid.org, the Provider Information website. Select Resources by Provider
Type for a list of resources specific to your provider type. If you cannot access the information, contact Provider Relations at
(800) 624-3958 or (406) 442-1837 in Helena or out-of-state.

Recent Publications Available on Website

Date | Provider Type | Description
Notices and Replacement Pages
07/06/09 | Psychiatrist Service Reimbursement Change and Timely Billing
Requirement
07/08/09 | Psychologist, Licensed Clinical Professional Psychological Testing Reimbursement Change
Counselor
07/08/09 | Physician, Mid-Level Practitioner Anesthesia Providers
07/09/09 | Optometric, Optician Optical Services Paid by RBRVS
07/16/09 | Dentist, Physician Coverage of Fluoride Varnish
Fee Schedules

07/08/09 | Mental Health Center, Licensed Clinical Professional | Fee schedule for MHSP services for clients 18 years of age
Counselor, Social Worker, Psychologist, Targeted and older

Case Management—Mental Health, Physician,
Psychiatrist, Mid-Level Practitioner

07/08/09 | Mental Health Center, Licensed Clinical Professional | Fee schedule for Medicaid Mental Health services for clients
Counselor, Social Worker, Psychologist, Targeted 18 years of age and older

Case Management—Mental Health, Physician,
Psychiatrist, Mid-Level Practitioner

07/14/09 | Physician Fee schedule

07/15/09 | Mid-Level Practitioner, Podiatrist, IDTF, Lab and Fee schedule
X-ray, Public Health Clinic

07/21/09 | Denturist, Oral Surgeon, Non-Emergency Fee schedule
Transportation, Personal and Commercial
Transportation, Ambulance, Nutrition, Respiratory
Therapist, Chiropractic, Private-Duty Nursing,
DME, Hearing Aid, Audiology, Eyeglasses,
School-Based Services, Physical Therapy,
Occupational Therapy, Speech Therapy

07/22/09 | Home and Community Based Services Adults With Severe Disabling Mental Illness fee schedule
Other Resources

07/06/09, | All Provider Types What’s New on the Site This Week

07/13/09,

07/20/09

07/06/09 | All Provider Types New Nurse First logo

07/13/09 | All Provider Types August 2009 Claim Jumper

07/14/09 | All Provider Types Fall Provider Training added to Upcoming Events
07/15/09 | All Provider Types Prior Authorization Key Contacts updated

07/16/09 | Psychologist, Chemical Dependency, Psychiatrist, | Mental Health Services Key Contacts updated
Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility, Social
Worker, Targeted Case Management—Mental
Health, Therapeutic Foster Care, Therapeutic
Group Home, Licensed Professional Counselor,

Mental Health Center
07/16/09, | Pharmacy Updated PDL
07/20/09
07/21/09 | Passport Provider Change Form
07/21/09 | Mental Health Center Adult Intensive Outpatient Therapy Services Clinical

Management Guidelines
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Key Contacts

Provider Information website: http://www.mtmedicaid.org
ACS EDI Gateway website: http://www.acs-gcro.com
ACS.EDI HelpoDesk (800) 624-3958 Provider Relations
Provider Relations P.O. Box 4936
(800) 624-3958 (In- and out-of-state) Helena, MT 59604
(406) 442-1837 (Helena)
(406) 442-4402 Fax
Email: MTPRHelpdesk@ACS-inc.com
TPL (800) 624-3958 (In- and out-of-state)
(406) 443-1365 (Helena)

(406) 442-0357 Fax ggilgz ;’g(()]%%ssing
Direct Deposit Arrangements (406) 444-5283 H.el;ana, MT 59604

Verify Client Eligibility
FAXBACK (800) 714-0075
Automated Voice Response (AVR) (800) 714-0060
Point-of-Sale Help Desk for Pharmacy Claims (800) 365-4944
PASSPORT (800) 362-8312
Prior Authorization Third Party Liability
Mountain-Pacific Quality Health Foundation (800) 262-1545 P.O. Box 5838
Mountain-Pacific Quality Health Foundation—DMEPOS/Medical Helena, MT 59604
(406) 457-5887 local, (877) 443-4021, ext. 5887 long-distance
First Health (800) 770-3084
Transportation (800) 292-7114
Prescriptions (800) 395-7961
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% Fall Provider Training

October 1: Miles City- Miles City Community College
October 8: Kalispell- Red Lion Hotel
October 29: Bozeman— Holiday Inn

Healthy Montana Kids
8:30 - 9:45

SURS
10:00 - 10:30

Passport / Nurse First / TeamCare
10:30 - 11:15

Special Forms & Electronic Rejections
11:15 - 12:00

Keeping Files Current
1:00 - 1:30

Fundamentals to Prevent Denials
1:30 - 3:00

Round Table with Program Officers
3:15 - 4:30

00 0000000000000 000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

Registration Form
Please check the appropriate box

/

Location: Miles City (Oct. 1)___ Kalispell (Oct. 8)___ Bozeman (Oct. 29)____

Name/Organization:
NPI: Contact Name:
City: Phone Number:

Names of Attendees:

You can register via e-mail at miprhelpdesk@acs-inc.com,
calling 1-800-624-3958, 406-457-9598
or fax to 406-442-4402

Schedule can be downloaded at www. mtmedicaid.org

@i@l\l TANA
Department of Public Health & Human Services CH'P




ACS
P.O. BOX 8000
HELENA, MT 59604

ACS PROVIDER TRAINING PRE-REGISTRATION
P.O. BOX 8000
HELENA, MT 59604

PLACE
STAMP
HERE
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